Sophia Groth


Sophia Groth

West Des Moines, Iowa


Chow's Gymnastics
West Des Moines, Iowa

Qualifying Meet:
Texas Prime Meet


Q: Do you have a nickname?

Q: When and why did you first become interested in gymnastics?

A: I was always climbing on things, so my mom put me in gymnastics. I started on team when I was six.

Q: Do you have any good/funny memories from when you first started taking gymnastics classes?

A: When I was little, my coaches were frustrated because I couldn’t learn my cartwheel. I need a private lesson to learn it!

Q: What is your training regimen? Was that a big change when you made the switch to competitive gymnastics?
I train 25 hours a week and do yoga, running and strength training.

Q: What is your favorite event?
I LOVE Beam!

Q: What music do you use for your floor routine?
I don’t know the name, but it’s classical with a James Bond sound.

Q: Who is your favorite gymnast or who is your “idol”?
Nadia Comaneci!

Q: How have you grown as a gymnast during your career, both skill wise and mentally?
I used to be very nervous, and now I am just excited to compete and show my stuff! Even when a meet doesn’t go well–it’s still fun!

Q: How has gymnastics helped you as a person?
I have learned that sometimes all the work in the world is not enough, perfection is impossible, and sometimes you learn more from the challenges than the “WINS.”

Q: If you had to select one life-lesson that gymnastics has taught you, what would it be? A: Don’t overthink things or borrow worries. Let your mind relax, and your body knows what to do!

Q: What are your biggest accomplishments or best memories in your career?

A: Winning Beam at my first JO Nationals was a blast. After ankle surgery last fall, qualifying for the Nastia Cup was a complete surprise and means a lot.

Q: What grade are you in school, and where do you go to school?
I am in 8th grade at Stillwell Junior High School.

Q: Do you want to compete in collegiate gymnastics?

Q: If you plan to go to college, do you know what you want to study there?
I am thinking about something in medicine, perhaps pediatric occupational therapy.

Q: When you’re not in the gym, how do you enjoy spending your time? Do you have any hobbies or favorite activities? Charities?
I like to shop, hang out with friends and work out. I support a couple of charities that work with Chinese Orphans (I am adopted from China).

Q: What is your favorite food?
POTATO anything.

Q: What is your favorite movie?
Soul Surfer

Q: What is your favorite book?
Because of Winn Fixie

Q: What is your favorite music group?
Kings of Leon

Q: Are any of your family members current or former athletes?

A: My sister runs and my mom tried out for the Olympics in swimming.

Q: If you had to pick 3 words to describe yourself as a gymnast, what are they?

A: Determined, fierce and tender hearted.

[adrotate group="2"]