Kelsey Knox


Kelsey Knox

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma


Dynamo Gymnastics
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Qualifying Meet:
Presidential Classic


Q: Do you have a nickname?

Q: When and why did you first become interested in gymnastics?
“I first got interested in gymnastics around age 6 because my sister was in it.”

Q: When did you decide you wanted to compete? And, when did you want to compete on the elite level? What about competition appeals to you?
“I decided to compete as a Level 4, and two years ago, I wanted to be a Level 10 gymnast.”

Q: What is your training regimen? Was that a big change when you made the switch to competitive gymnastics?
“I train Monday through Friday, 3:30 – 8 p.m. and Saturday 9 a.m. -1:30 p.m.”

Q: What is your favorite event?

Q: What is your favorite skill?
“Handspring Layout Layout”

Q: What music do you use for your floor routine?
“Dream Pop”

Q: Who is your favorite gymnast or who is your “idol”?
“Nastia Liukin”

Q: How have you grown as a gymnast during your career, both skill wise and mentally?
“I have always believed in myself.”

Q: How has gymnastics helped you as a person?
“To be more athletic.”

Q: If you had to select one life-lesson that gymnastics has taught you, what would it be?
“Just do it, and watch the beam.”

Q: What are your biggest accomplishments or best memories in your career?
“When I made it to J.O. Nationals.”

Q: Do you want to compete in collegiate gymnastics?

Q: What are your favorite subjects, etc.?
“Math and Western Geography”

Q: If you plan to go to college, do you know what you want to study there?

Q: What are your goals for the future, both as an athlete and after you are finished competing?
“To be a gymnastics coach.”

Q: When you’re not in the gym, how do you enjoy spending your time? Do you have any hobbies or favorite activities?
“Spending time with friends and trying different sports.”

Q: What is your favorite food?
“Fettuccini Alfredo”

Q: What is your favorite movie?

Q: What is your favorite book?
“Any scary book.”

Q: What is your favorite music group?
“One Direction”

Q: Are any of your family members current or former athletes? Which sports?
“Yes, my sister does softball, track and basketball.”

Q: What’s on your IPod right now? What type of music do enjoy listening to? How about before a meet when you’re trying to get focused and pumped up?
“I listen to pop and rap, but my favorite artist is Bruno Mars.”

Q: If you had to pick 3 words to describe yourself as a gymnast, what are they?
“Strong, Funny, and Hardworking.”

Q: What 3 words describe you as a person, not the gymnast?
“Funny, Nice, and Athletic.”

[adrotate group="2"]