Shea Mahoney


Shea Mahoney

Algonquin, Illinois


Legacy Elite Gymnastics LLC
Carol Stream, Illinois

Qualifying Meet:
Legacy Elite Winter Classic


1. Name, Age, Hometown:
Shea Mahoney, 18, Algonquin, Ill.

2. Where do you live to train? (Not your hometown unless you train in hometown).
Carol Stream, Ill. I drive 45 minutes every day.

3. When and why did you first become interested in gymnastics?
I was about 3 years old. My mom put me in every sport possible but gymnastics was the only one I wanted to come back to.

4. Do you have any good/funny memories from when you first started taking gymnastics classes?
I remember, kind of embarrassing, I would not go in without my mom. I would hold onto her leg but she would have to walk me out to the floor. She finally told me if I couldn’t go out there on my own, I couldn’t do this sport.

5. When did you decide you wanted to compete? And, when did you want to compete on the elite level? What about competition appeals to you?
It was never really a decision. It was when I made it through all the rec gymnasts and then there was the team. All of my friends did the team, so it was just the next step. I just love the rush of adrenaline you get, and getting to show off what you have put together. My favorite part is getting to have fun with my team and my friends.

6. What is your training regimen? Was that a big change when you made the switch to competitive gymnastics?
I practice Monday – Friday 2 – 6 p.m., and then. 8 a.m. – 1 p.m. on Saturdays.

7. What is your favorite skill?
My favorite skill is probably my vault. I love competing vault and trying to stick the landing every time.

8. What music do you use for your floor routine?
All my music has been very classical – I am more of a pretty dancer versus the hip hop style.

9. Who is your idol?
Nastia Liukin. Just watching everything she did when I was little and now getting to compete at her event is awesome.

10. How has gymnastics helped you as a person?
It has helped my work ethic and dedication-in school and in life in general.

11. What grade are you in and where do you go to school?
I am a senior. I go to St. Francis HS

12. Do you want to compete in collegiate gymnastics?
Yes, I have signed my national letter of intent with the University of Alabama.

13. What are your favorite subjects?
I love any sciences classes especially anatomy and physiology.

14. If you plan to go to college, what do you want to study there?
Medicine – athletic training, specifically.

15. What are your goals for the future, both as an athlete and after you are finished competing?
I hope to help Alabama win a national title and win an individual national title. I hope to one day become an orthopedic physician’s assistant, so I can help other athletes come back stronger.

16. When you are not in the gym, how do you spend your time? Hobbies or favorite activities?
I love hanging out with my friends and family. I love watching my younger brothers sporting events. Jack plays baseball, basketball, and football. I also love to online shop.

17. What is your favorite food?

18. Favorite movie?
The Blind Side

19. Favorite music group?
Rascal Flats

20. Do you have any competition rituals? Lucky charms?
I have a bunch of funny, weird things. My mom always has to put in my scrunchie or ribbon.

21. If you had to pick three words to describe yourself as a gymnast, what would they be?
Hardworking, graceful, and powerful.

22. If you had to pick three words to describe yourself not as a gymnast, what would they be?
Dedication, passionate, and smiley.

[adrotate group="2"]