Kaylen Morgan


Kaylen Morgan

Huntersville, North Carolina


Everest Gymnastics
Huntersville, North Carolina

Qualifying Meet:
Metroplex Challenge


Instagram: @kkthunderbeast2004

Do you have a nickname? KK

When and why did you first become interested in gymnastics? I started gymnastics when I was 3 years old. I loved to run, jump and flip around on the furniture and one day my mom signed me up for recreation gymnastics.

Do you have any good/funny memories from when you first started taking gymnastics classes? I remember trying a handstand for the first time and falling straight to my back.

When did you decide you wanted to compete? And, when did you want to compete at a high level? What about competition appeals to you? In Level 4 I really loved the sport and wanted to go to higher levels. The moment you make a great routine and you feel unstoppable is what is appealing to me.

What is your training regimen? Was that a big change when you made the switch to competitive gymnastics? 6 days a week for 6 hours a day. It wasn’t a big change when I switched to competitive gymnastics.

What is your favorite event? All the events are my favorite.

What is your favorite skill? Shaposh-half is my favorite skill.

What music do you use for your floor routine? An upbeat arrangement by Dominic Zito.

Who is your favorite gymnast or who is your “idol”? Gabby Douglas is my “idol” because she chased her dreams and never gave up.

How have you grown as a gymnast during your career, both skill wise and mentally? By pushing through hard practices, and a lot of conditioning I have mentally and physically grown stronger. Skill wise I have grown to where I can do a routine with E ranked skills.

How has gymnastics helped you as a person? It has helped me live life to the fullest and reach for my goals even if it’s hard.

If you had to select one life-lesson that gymnastics has taught you, what would it be? To NEVER give up because in the end, all the hard work will pay off.

What are your biggest accomplishments or best memories in your career? One big accomplishment was making it to Hopes Championships in 2017. To date, this is my fondest memory.

What grade are you in school, and where do you go to school? I’m in 8th grade and I do online school at Laurel Springs

Do you want to compete in collegiate gymnastics? Yes, but there are many other accomplishments I want to achieve before I go to college.

What are your favorite subjects, etc.? Science, Math, and History.

If you plan to go to college, do you know what you want to study there? I’m not sure exactly what I want to do but I have some interest in being a doctor, physical therapist, or engineer.

What are your goals for the future, both as an athlete and after you are finished competing? I want to be on the USA National Team and after gymnastics I want to donate/give back to people in need.

When you’re not in the gym, how do you enjoy spending your time? I love spending time with my family and friends. I enjoy going to the movies and playing games with my little brother

Do you have any hobbies or favorite activities? I like to draw and dance.

What is your favorite food? Chicken Caesar salad wrap

What is your favorite movie? The Matrix

What is your favorite book? Miracles from Heaven

What is your favorite music group? New Edition

Are any of your family members current or former athletes? Which sports? Two of my brothers play soccer.

Do you have any competition rituals? Lucky charms? I usually say a prayer before the meet and before I compete on each event.

What’s on your IPod right now? What type of music do enjoy listening to? How about before a meet when you’re trying to get focused and pumped up? I like to listen to pop, soul, gospel, R&B, country, old school, and rap. When preparing for a meet I listen to gospel.

If you had to pick 3 words to describe yourself as a gymnast, what are they? Passionate, hardworking, and humble.

[adrotate group="2"]