Feb. 25, 2024
Kentucky International Convention Center - Louisville, Ky.

Melissa Reinstadtler


Melissa Reinstadtler

Brick, New Jersey


North Stars Gymnastics Academy
Boonton, New Jersey

Qualifying Meet:
Pikes Peak Cup


Q: Do you have a nickname?
My friends call me Missy.

Q: When and why did you first become interested in gymnastics?
When I was younger my mom noticed that I had good awareness, so my uncle suggested putting me in gymnastics.

Q: When did you decide you wanted to compete? And, when did you want to compete on the elite level? What about competition appeals to you?
At first, I didn’t like competing but once I started going to meets and performing in front of people I decided that I liked it and kept with it.

Q: What is your favorite event?
I love floor, and I think it’s a great that you can show your personality and express yourself.

Q: What is your favorite skill?
My favorite skill a double Arabian. I think it’s a fun skill, and it’s very rewarding when you make it.

Q: Who is your favorite gymnast or who is your “idol”?
I always looked up to Nastia Liukin and Shawn Johnson, and I’ve also been inspired by McKayla Maroney because her gymnastics is very light and enjoyable to watch.

Q: How have you grown as a gymnast during your career, both skill wise and mentally?
I learned a lot about myself, and every year, I have improved in my gymnastics. I understand what I need to do every year to get better technique and consistency.

Q: How has gymnastics helped you as a person?
Gymnastics teaches discipline and time management.

Q: If you had to select one life-lesson that gymnastics has taught you, what would it be?
If you want something, you have to work for it.

Q: What are your biggest accomplishments or best memories in your career?
My biggest accomplishment was winning floor at nationals, I qualified for the Region 7 All-star Team, and we went to Scotland. That was my best memory

Q: What grade are you in school, and where do you go to school?
Senior at Brick High School

Q: Do you want to compete in collegiate gymnastics?
I’ve committed to the University of Utah. It is a very seasoned program and the coaches care. It just felt like home.

Q: What are your favorite subjects, etc.?
I like science.

Q: What are your goals for the future, both as an athlete and after you are finished competing?
This year my goal is to win Junior Olympic Nationals. In college, I would love to win an NCAA Championship team title. After college, I want to have a steady career.

Q: When you’re not in the gym, how do you enjoy spending your time? Do you have any hobbies or favorite activities?
I like to hang out with my friends and go to the beach.

Q: What is your favorite food?
I like chicken or pineapple.

Q: What is your favorite movie?
The Lion King.

Q: What is your favorite music group?
The Lumineers

Q: Are any of your family members current or former athletes?
My sister does club soccer in college, and my brothers played soccer.

Q: What’s on your iPod right now? What type of music do enjoy listening to? How about before a meet when you’re trying to get focused and pumped up?
I listen to Jimmy Eat World every time before I compete. My dad played it before every meet, even when I was a Level 4, so I kept doing it.

Q: If you had to pick 3 words to describe yourself as a gymnast, what are they?
Artistic, aggressive and calm.

Q: What 3 words describe you as a person, not the gymnast?
Outgoing, fun, and happy. I used to be an international elite, but I felt like it was too much pressure and I wanted to enjoy my gymnastics more.

[adrotate group="2"]