Brehanna Showers


Brehanna Showers

Rockford, Michigan


Grand Rapids, Michigan

Qualifying Meet:
Presidential Classic


Q: Do you have a nickname?
“Bre or Showers.”

Q: When and why did you first become interested in gymnastics?
“Well, my parents were the ones who got me interested in gymnastics. It started when they put me in rec classes at the age of 3 to develop good balance and hand-eye coordination, and get some energy out. I just fell in love with it, and have been ever since.”

Q: Do you have any good/funny memories from when you first started taking gymnastics classes?
“There are so many! But one of the best memories was when my best friend and I were in classes together. We used to have so much fun doing crazy things and goofing off. It was a riot!”

Q: When did you decide you wanted to compete?
“Well, I didn’t start competitive gymnastics until I was 9. Being competitive is in my blood, so I’ve always loved to compete.”
And, when did you want to compete on the elite level? What about competition appeals to you?
“Honestly, I never expected getting to the place I am at in gymnastics. I used to just do it for fun. Competition is appealing to me because I love the feeling of accomplishment it gives you. And I like how it makes you feel like all the long nights and extra hours in the gym are worth it.”

Q: What is your training regimen? Was that a big change when you made the switch to competitive gymnastics?
“Close to 25 hours a week. The big change was the hours of training. I surely didn’t expect it and neither did my parents. It has also been difficult on family because I don’t get to spend as much time as I’d like to with them.”

Q: What is your favorite event?

Q: What is your favorite skill?
“My Shushunova [full-twisting reverse hecht] on bars.”

Q: What music do you use for your floor routine?
“Dark Model’s ‘Fire Back’.”

Q: Who is your favorite gymnast or who is your “idol”?
“My gymnastics idol is my old teammate Brianna Higgins. She is such a pure person, as well as an inspiration.”

Q: How have you grown as a gymnast during your career, both skill wise and mentally?
“I think that I gain more confidence each and every year. I also have improved greatly with not just focusing on the skill, but really keying in on details.”

Q: How has gymnastics helped you as a person?
“Gymnastics has really helped me with time management, making positive choices, and it has definitely helped my work ethic.”

Q: If you had to select one life-lesson that gymnastics has taught you, what would it be?
“I think it has taught me that you won’t get anywhere in life without hard work and a drive to accomplish greatness.”

Q: What are your biggest accomplishments or best memories in your career?
“My biggest accomplishments are winning All-Around at Level 9 Eastern Nationals, winning Vault and Floor at last year’s Nationals, and being able to travel to Europe with the Region 5 All-Star Team.”

Q: Do you want to compete in collegiate gymnastics?

Q: What are your favorite subjects in school?
“I like biology, anatomy, sciences, and math.”

Q: If you plan to go to college, do you know what you want to study there?
“I’m not exactly sure, but I know I want to study something in the medical field.”

Q: What are your goals for the future?
“My goals for my J.O. career are to be a three-time National Team member and win the all-around at Nationals. My goal for college is to be a part and contribute to a National team title. For the future, I see myself having kids, and living on a ranch with horses!”

Q: When you’re not in the gym, how do you enjoy spending your time? Do you have any hobbies or favorite activities?
“I enjoy spending time with friends and family. I also enjoy messing around on my guitar and learning songs on the piano.” Charities?
“Thirsting to Serve, and a small group at church.”

Q: What is your favorite food?
“Chicken Noodle Soup.”

Q: What is your favorite movie?
“Into the Wild.”

Q: What is your favorite book?
“To Kill a Mockingbird.”

Q: Who is your favorite music group/artist?
“The Head and the Heart.”

Q: Are any of your family members current or former athletes? Which sports?
“Yes! My older sister, Karli, played softball, basketball, and volleyball. My older brother, Shain, plays baseball at the University of Evansville. My brother Brent plays football, baseball, and does wrestling. He is going to play football at Northern Michigan University next year. And my little brother Khale plays football, basketball, baseball, and does wrestling.”

Q: Do you have any competition rituals? Lucky charms?
“So, so, so many. I’m a very superstitious person. As much as I’d love to tell them, I can’t, because they won’t be lucky anymore if I do!”

Q: What’s on your IPod right now? What type of music do you enjoy listening to? How about before a meet when you’re trying to get focused and pumped up?
“I have such a large variety of music. I listen to folk rock and pop, all the way to country and Christian rock. Before a meet, I typically try to listen to Christian rock to calm me down so I don’t get nervous.”

Q: If you had to pick 3 words to describe yourself as a gymnast, what are they?
“Dedicated, dynamic, hardworking.”

Q: What 3 words describe you as a person, not the gymnast?
“Blessed, caring, giddy.”

[adrotate group="2"]