Feb. 25, 2024
Kentucky International Convention Center - Louisville, Ky.

Akoray Subject


Akoray Subject

Plymouth, Minnesota


Twin City Twisters
Champlin, Minnesota

Qualifying Meet:
Tampa Bay Turners Invitational


Nickname: AK

Q: When and why did you first become interested in gymnastics?
I started gymnastics when I was 2 years old because I couldn’t stop moving and jumping off things.

Q: Do you have any good/funny memories from when you first started taking gymnastics classes?
When I was two, my gymnastics coach let me do front tucks off a windowsill into the pit because I asked and he said yes.

Q: When did you decide you wanted to compete? And, when did you want to compete on the elite level?
As soon as I knew what competition was, I couldn’t wait to get out there! Ever since I was on the pre-team at age 4, I knew I wanted to be one of the best and become a Level 10 gymnast.

Q: What about competition appeals to you?
I love competition because you get to go out and show people all of your skills you have been working so hard on in the gym.

Q: What is your training regimen?
I train about 24 hours a week. It wasn’t that big of a change for me because I have always been on the competitive track.

Q: What is your favorite event?
Bars and floor

Q: What is your favorite skill?
Either my Shaposh or a double layout dismount on bars.

Q: What music do you use for your floor routine?
A mix of the song “Bom Bom” by Sam and the Womp put together by Eric Larson from Wolfjump Floor Music.

Q: Who is your favorite gymnast or who is your “idol”?
Simone Biles

Q: How have you grown as a gymnast during your career, both skill wise and mentally?
I have grown a lot, both physically and mentally, during my gymnastics career. Gymnastics is a sport that I believe helps build character and teaches you so many valuable lessons.

Q: How has gymnastics helped you as a person?
Gymnastics has taught me how to be a leader, work hard, succeed and never give up.

Q: If you had to select one life-lesson that gymnastics has taught you, what would it be?
Keep trying and never give up, a skill may take a year to learn, but eventually you will get there. If you work hard and never give up, you will achieve your goals.

Q: What are your biggest accomplishments or best memories in your career?
My biggest accomplishments in my gymnastics career so far are making it to Junior Olympic Nationals, qualifying to the Nastia Liukin Cup and verbally committing to the University of Denver.

Q: What grade are you in school, and where do you go to school?
I am a freshman at Wayzata High School.

Q: Do you want to compete in collegiate gymnastics and or are you committed?
I would love to compete in college, and I’m currently verbally committed to the University of Denver.

Q: What are your favorite subjects, etc.?
My favorite school subjects are Math and Science.

Q: If you plan to go to college, do you know what you want to study there?
I want to study biology/pre-med. I want to become an orthopedic surgeon and help athletes recover.

Q: What are your goals for the future, both as an athlete and after you are finished competing?
My biggest goal for my J.O. career is to win the all-around at J.O. Nationals. When I go to college, I want to win NCAA Nationals with my team and make history at the University of Denver. After I’m done competing, I want to be an Orthopedic Surgeon.

Q: When you’re not in the gym, how do you enjoy spending your time?
When I’m not in the gym I enjoy spending time with friends and family. I love shopping and going to the movies with my friends.

Q: What is your favorite food?
My favorite food is sushi.

Q: What is your favorite movie?
My favorite movies are Miracle, Rudy, Blended and the Blind Side.

Q: What is your favorite book?
My favorite books are “The Da Vinci Code” and “Angels and Demons,” both written by Dan Brown.

Q: What is your favorite music group?
My favorite music group is Maroon 5.

Q: Are any of your family members current or former athletes?
My mom was a gymnast in high school, my dad played football and baseball in high school and my younger brother, Will, plays hockey, lacrosse, and football.

Q: Do you have any competition rituals? Lucky charms?
I like to go to Starbucks and get a Chai Tea latte with Coconut milk for a little extra boost of energy.

Q: What’s on your iPod right now? What type of music do enjoy listening to? How about before a meet when you’re trying to get focused and pumped up?
I enjoy listening to all types of music, but my favorite genres are country and pop.

Q: If you had to pick 3 words to describe yourself as a gymnast, what are they?
Competitive, committed and determined.

Q: What 3 words describe you as a person, not the gymnast?
Energetic, lively and fun.

[adrotate group="2"]